HemoCue Logo

Webinar: Avoid Uncertainty with a White Blood Cell Count at the Point of Care

New updated time announced for the webinar! This webinar will address judicious antibiotic use and discuss how use of a simple white blood cell count and differential laboratory test, easily performed in minutes, can assist in deciding who to treat or not to treat with antibiotics.

April 22, 2017

Uncertainty regarding the diagnosis when patients have bacterial or viral infections, especially respiratory infections, often leads to excessive, unnecessary antibiotic use, thereby promoting the emergence of antibiotic-resistant bacteria.

Clinicians have long known that antibiotics can hasten recovery from illness and save lives but more recent evidence shows that antibiotics can also cause harm by disturbing the natural balance of the human microbiome. Therefore, judicious use of antibiotics has emerged as a desired goal for patients and clinicians.  

This presentation will address judicious antibiotic use and discuss how use of a simple white blood cell count and differential laboratory test, easily performed in minutes, can assist in deciding who to treat and who not to treat with antibiotics.

Topic: Judicious Antibiotic Use in Clinical Practice
Date: 16 May, 2017
Updated Time: 6 AM New York/12 PM Stockholm/3:30 PM Mumbai
Focused on: Antibiotics, Clinical practice
Sponsored by: HemoCue AB, Ängelholm Sweden
Learning Objectives:
1. Understand the importance of judicious prescription of antibiotics with regard to microbiome and immunity disturbance
2. Understand how access to white cell count and differential at the point of care can enable judicious antibiotic prescription


Register here for our webinar.

 

Cookies are used on this site

Use of cookies